JohannisbergBad Nauheim’s local mountain (268 m above sea level) can be reached by easy walking trails – but also by car. Once at the top, a unique view over Bad Nauheim opens up, far into the Wetterau up until the Vogelsberg.Bad Nauheim’s local hill (268 m above sea level) is easily reached by simple walking trails – but also by car. Once at the top, a unique view over Bad Nauheim opens up reaching far into the Wetterau all the way to the Vogelsberg. Due to its excellent location the Johannisberg was a ritual place for Pagan, Celtic and Germanic tradition long before Christianity. Remnants document a settlement already in the Stone and Bronze Ages. It is assumed that a missionary church was built here as early as 779. The “Johanniskirche” (St John’s Church), as a mother church and baptistery, became the “Urpfarrei” (original parish) for the whole of the northern Wetterau. During the protestant Reformation, however, the church was abandoned and eventually deteriorated. Only the foundations of the church tower remained which were rebuilt into an observation tower in 1866. Since 1965, the tower has been housing the observatory. Just a few steps away are the remains of a Roman signal tower from the 2nd century. It is thanks to the commitment of the “Freundeskreis Weinanbau Johannisberg” (Winegrowing Group Johannisberg) that after a 100 years, vines are growing again on the sunny hillside nicknamed "Nizza" (Nice). At the end of the 19th century, the “Johannisberger” was known as a fine drop. It appears that wine was already grown here 600 years ago. However, the vines disappeared around 1900 as the city and its owner lost interest in the labour-intensive viticulture. The red roof of the “Café Restaurant Johannisberg” can be seen from afar. The traditional restaurant was already appreciated by Empress Sisi who enjoyed her daily lunch here during her stay.